Minnesota's NEW SLOWPOKE LAWDriving too slow in cities like Minneapolis could result in a fine
As a result of a new law starting August 1, 2019, drivers who do not move over for faster vehicles may be fined up to $125.00 ($50.00 base fine plus a $75.00 surcharge).
While every state has a law requiring slower vehicles to move to the right lane, Minnesota joins a dozen other states with similar laws that involve a financial penalty for failing to do so.
In the past, Minnesota has had a similar law on the books for some time. However, the most recent legislation updated the old slow-moving vehicle law requiring motorists to move over if another driver is behind them.
Although the new law should result is faster travel times and ease traffic congestion, all drivers will still be required to obey posted speed limits. Fast drivers are still regarded by law enforcement as a greater safety danger on the roads than those slower drivers who hold up traffic.
During a recent press conference, Minnesota Governor Tim Walz cautioned all drivers to rememberthat the new law is “not a free-for-all to go as fast as you can, it’s simply to make sure that the flow of traffic works in the most efficient and safe manner.
If you find yourself facing careless driving, inattentive driving,DWI, or OWI charges and need to explore your options for keeping a clean driving record or getting your driving privileges restored, our seasoned lawyers can help. Attorneys are available 24-7 — Call us at 612-334-3342.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime