DUI License Reinstatement How Do You Get a Minnesota DUI License Reinstatement?
If you’ve been charged with a DUI/DWI offense in Minnesota, you are facing considerable fines or even jail time. Drunk driving in Minnesota is a very serious offense and MN DWI laws are strictly enforced.
There are a variety of sentences for DUI/DWI in Minnesota – in part based on whether the conviction was a first or reoccurring offense. In fact, there are two separate court cases – a criminal case and a civil case. Even if you are not convicted of the criminal case, there is still a chance that you will lose the civil case, if your blood alcohol level is .08 or higher.
The civil case allows the Minnesota Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke your license. You could potentially lose your license for anywhere between 30 days to an indefinite cancellation of privileges, depending on your blood alcohol level, and/or prior convictions.
MINNESTA DWI COURTS AND CONSEQUENCES
Many people assume that once their case has gone to court, their sentence served and fines paid, they can resume driving. Actually, MN DWI laws require that you follow a process and apply for driver’s license reinstatement following your conviction or revocation. While this sounds like an easy process, Minnesota DUI reinstatement is not necessarily easy.
Minnesota DUI reinstatement requires that you work to get your license back. You’ll have to fill out a lot of paperwork and pay additional fines. Some of the steps to get your license reinstated include:
- Completion and passing score on a written DWI related driving test. Much like your first driving test, it’s a good idea to study up for this exam;
- Pay a license reinstatement fee of $680.00;
- Complete an application to reinstate your license;
- Pay an additional reapplication fee of $24.00.
If you have had prior convictions for DUI or DWI, you may also be required to enroll in the Ignition Interlock program, complete substance abuse classes, attend regular AA meetings, and prove that you are abstaining from alcohol for a period of time. Minnesota DWI reinstatement is even more difficult if you are under the age of 21. If you are younger than 21, you will have quite a few hoops to jump through.
Getting your driver’s license reinstated requires a bit more effort than merely showing up at the Department of Licensing. Minnesota DWI laws are intended to provide substantial and immediate punishment for DUI and DWI offenses. Getting your license reinstated can seem like another form of punishment. It may be time consuming, but eventually you can regain your driving privileges and get back to your normal life.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime