Do You Have A Basic Understanding Of the DWI Laws In MN?
Avoid Harsh Minnesota 2nd Degree DWI Penalties With The Help Of An Experienced Attorney
Are you facing DWI charges in Minnesota? If so, it is important for you to have a basic understanding of DWI laws in MN so you will have a better idea of what could happen if you are convicted of the DWI. While you certainly want to hire a lawyer to provide you with legal counsel, and he or she will certainly provide you with more in-depth information regarding DWI laws in MN, it is in your best interest to start gaining a deeper understanding of these laws as soon as possible.
DWI laws in MN are different than in some other states because the penalties you face if convicted are determined by the number of aggravating actors that were present when you were allegedly driving while intoxicated.
By taking a closer look at the aggravating factors, the criminal act is divided into either a 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th degree criminal classification. The penalties are then determined based upon the degree of the classification, with Minnesota 2nd degree DWI penalties being more severe than 3rd or 4th degree penalties -- and 1st degree penalties being the most severe.
The penalties you face according to the degree are as follows:
- 4th Degree DWI (misdemeanor) - no aggravating factors - $1000 fine and/or 90 days in jail
- 3rd Degree DWI (gross misdemeanor) - one aggravating factor - $3000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
- 2nd Degree DWI (gross misdemeanor) - two aggravating factors - $3000 fine an/or 1 year in jail
- 1st Degree DWI (felony) - three aggravating factors and only if it is the fourth offense - $14000 fine and/or seven years incarceration
According to DWI laws in MN, there are several different situations that are considered to be aggravating factors. These include:
- A prior DWI conviction or loss of license due to impaired driving within the past 10 years
- Alcohol concentration of .20 or more
- Presence of a child who is under the age of 16, if that child is more than 3 years younger than the impaired driver
Obviously, DWI laws in MN are far more complex than just these basics and, with a competent DWI lawyer, you may be able to get the charges reduced or thrown out completely.
Therefore, if you are facing Minnesota 2nd degree DWI penalties or penalties from any other degree, it is imperative to hire an attorney who is experienced in DWI cases in Minnesota. This way, you will have the best chance of avoiding a conviction and getting the penalties reduced.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime